Joe Lynn Turner

New Jersey ! This State has generated a number of musical stars from Italian origin : Frank Sinatra, Bruce Springsteen, Jon Bon Jovi, Jack Ponti…and Joe Lynn Turner born Linquito.

 

Turner is quickly marked out by a tenor voice in the band Fandango, an honest US band between chromed-FM and soft pop. If the 70’s mean apprenticeship, Joe Lynn accepts an offer nobody can refuse in 1980, an offer from the atrabiliary Ritchie Blackmore, Rainbow’s autocrat leader, the commercial and overwhelming Rainbow from the 80’s. Three high class records see the light of day and a myriad of music hits contributed to the sensitive and particularly talented singer’s glory .

 

You must remember “I Surrender”, “Spotlight Kid”, “Stone Cold” or “Street of Dreams”. When Blackmore takes the decision to revive the old Purple’s Mark II, Joe Lynn is turning into a solo career and is marking a decisive strike with a seven wonders AOR records of all times : a work of art called “Rescue You” in 1985 ! He is sharing this masterpiece with the biggest US AOR musicians like Bobby Messano, Chuck Burgi or Al Greenwood.

 

Not quite tired by characterial rockers, Turner is enhancing his CV with Yngwie Malmsteen’s Rising Force and then cannot say no to a prestigious position with the legendary Deep Purple in 1989 and 1990 in shamelessly slipping into the Great Ian Gillan’s shoes. Then more solo albums, some projects without too much tomorrows and an explosive collaboration with Glenn Hughes.

 

Altogether a hundred times deserved status : the status of a rock legend. No more no less…

Joe Lynn Turner

Le New Jersey ! Voilà bien un état qui a généré nombre de vedettes musicales d’origines italiennes : Frank Sinatra, Bruce Springsteen, Jon Bon Jovi, Jack Ponti… et Joe Lynn Turner né Linquito.

 

Turner se distingue vite avec une voix de ténor au sein de Fandango, une honnête série b US entre rock FM chromé et pop gentille. Si les années 70 sont celles de l’apprentissage, l’ami Joe Lynn accepte une proposition que l’on ne peut refuser en 1980 : celle de l’atrabilaire Ritchie Blackmore, leader autocrate de Rainbow, le Rainbow commercial et irrésistible des eighties. Trois albums de très grande classe voient le jour et une myriade de hits contribue à la gloire d’un chanteur sensible et particulièrement doué.

 

Beaucoup se souviennent ainsi des «I Surrender», «Spotlight Kid», «Stone Cold» ou autre «Street of Dreams». Quand Blackmore décide de réactiver le Mark II du vieux pourpre, Joe Lynn vire solo et marque un coup décisif avec une des 7 merveilles du monde de l’AOR : l’incommensurable «Rescue You» en 1985 ! Du caviar qu’il partage avec des pointures FM du rock US comme Bobby Messano, Chuck Burgi ou Al Greenwood.

 

Pas encore lassé des caractériels du rock, Turner étoffe son CV avec le Rising Force d’Yngwie Malmsteen puis ne peut encore dire non à un poste des plus prestigieux au sein de la légende Deep Purple en 1989 et 1990 se glissant sans vergogne dans les souliers du grand Ian Gillan. Il y aura encore des albums solos, des projets sans trop de lendemains et une collaboration détonante avec Monsieur Glenn Hughes.

 

Avec en filigrane un statut cent fois mérité : celui de légende du rock. Ni plus ni moins…